Sierra Leone

Ελληνικά English 中文 Tiếng Việt Català Italiano Euskara العربية Čeština Eesti Galego Español Русский Nederlands Português Norsk (Bokmål) Türkçe Lietuvių ไทย Română Polski Français Українська Hrvatski Deutsch Magyar فارسی हिन्दी Suomi Dansk 日本語 עברית Nynorsk Српски / Srpski 한국어 Svenska Slovenčina Bahasa Melayu Slovenščina

Sierra Leone (/siˌɛrə liˈoʊn, -ˈoʊni/, UK also /siˌɛərə-, ˌsɪərə-/), officially the Republic of Sierra Leone, is a country in West Africa. It is bordered by Guinea to the northeast, Liberia to the southeast and the Atlantic Ocean to the southwest. It has a tropical climate, with a diverse environment ranging from savanna to rainforests. The country has a total area of 71,740 km² (27,699 sq mi) and a population of 7,075,641 as of the 2015 census. It is a constitutional republic with a directly elected president and a unicameral legislature, the Parliament. Its capital and largest city is Freetown (population 1,050,301). The next-largest cities are Kenema (population 200,354), Bo, Koidu Town and Makeni. Sierra Leone is made up of five administrative regions: the Northern Province, North West Province, Eastern Province, Southern Province and the capital district Western Area. These regions are subdivided into sixteen districts, which are further divided into 190 chiefdoms. Each district has its own directly elected local government, though with very limited powers, as most of the powers are held by the central government in Freetown.

Guinea Liberia Guinea-Bissau Côte d'Ivoire Gambia Senegal Ghana Burkina Faso Mauritania Togo Cape Verde Benin Mali Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic Brazil Nigeria Spain São Tomé and Príncipe Morocco Niger Equatorial Guinea Algeria Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha Gabon Cameroon Gibraltar Congo-Brazzaville Chad Portugal Tunisia