Northern Province

Русский Français English 中文 Português Tiếng Việt Deutsch 한국어 Italiano Svenska فارسی हिन्दी Polski Українська Suomi Nederlands 日本語 Español

The Northern Province (Tamil: வட மாகாணம் Vaṭa Mākāṇam; Sinhala: උතුරු පළාත Uturu Paḷāta) is one of the nine provinces of Sri Lanka, the first level administrative division of the country. The provinces have existed since the 19th century but did not have any legal status until 1987 when the 13th Amendment to the Constitution of Sri Lanka established provincial councils. Between 1988 and 2006 the province was temporarily merged with the Eastern Province to form the North Eastern Province. The capital of the province is Jaffna. The majority of the Sri Lankan Civil War was played out in this province.

North Central Province North Western Province Central Province Eastern Tamil Nadu Sabaragamuwa Province Western Province Uva Puducherry Southern Province