Sabaragamuwa Province

Русский Français English 中文 Português Català Deutsch 한국어 Italiano Svenska فارسی हिन्दी Polski Українська Suomi Nederlands 日本語 Español

The Sabaragamuwa Province, (Sinhala: සබරගමුව පළාත Sabaragamuwa Palata, Tamil: சபரகமுவ மாகாணம் Sabaragamuwa Maakaanam) is one of the nine provinces of Sri Lanka, the first level administrative division of the country. The provinces have existed since the 19th century but did not have any legal status until 1987 when the 13th Amendment to the Constitution of Sri Lanka established provincial councils. The Sabaragamuwa Province contains two districts: Ratnapura and Kegalle. It is named after its former indigenous inhabitants, namely the Sabara, an indic term for hunter-gatherer tribes, a term seldom used in ancient Sri Lanka. Sabaragamuwa University is in Belihuloya.

Western Province Central Province Southern Province Uva North Western Province North Central Province Eastern Northern Province Tamil Nadu Puducherry