Lakes (state)

English 中文 Tiếng Việt Català Italiano العربية Eesti Español Русский Nederlands Português Norsk (Bokmål) Lietuvių Română Polski Français Deutsch Suomi 日本語 עברית Српски / Srpski 한국어 Svenska Українська

Lakes (al-Buhayrat) was one of the ten states of South Sudan. It has an area of 40,235 km². Rumbek was the capital of the state. Lakes was in the Bahr el Ghazal region of South Sudan, in addition to Northern Bahr el Ghazal, Western Bahr el Ghazal, and Warrap states. Bahr el Ghazal itself was a former province which was split from the Anglo-Egyptian mudiriyat, or province of Equatoria in 1948. The eastern border was the White Nile with Jonglei on the opposite bank. To the northeast lied the Unity State. Other borders included Warrap State towards the northwest, Western Equatoria to the south and west, and Central Equatoria to the south.

Western Equatoria Unity State Warrap Jonglei Central Equatoria Koboko District Yumbe District Moyo District Upper Uele Maracha District